Saturday, May 18, 2024

Trump imposes visa ban on Nigeria, others

US president, Donald Trump, has imposed a visa ban that ensures immigration from Nigeria is no longer possible.

Citizens from Eritrea, Myanmar and Kyrgyzstan, won’t also be allowed to apply for visas to immigrate to America under the policy.


The Trump administration has taken this decision to tighten security for countries, that don’t comply with the U.S. minimum security standards or cooperate to prevent illegal immigration.

Sudan and Tanzania will be barred from participating in the diversity visa lottery, which randomly awards green cards to 50,000 immigrants annually.

The new restrictions take effect on February 21 and will apply only to new visa applications.


Immigrants, who were issued valid visas before that date, will still be able to move to the U.S.

Signature TV
Signature TV
Signature TV is a multi-media company, owners and operators of and producers of The Signature Show on AIT and Corruption Tori. Our programmes are broadcast on the AIT Network and on Seven NTA stations across the country. We are content providers for a number of television networks and some State TV stations, with a respected 24/7, high online and offline followership. We are also Communications/Media Consultants to MacArthur Foundation, Ford Foundation and OSIWA.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
Captcha verification failed!
CAPTCHA user score failed. Please contact us!

Latest Articles