Tuesday, December 5, 2023

Anambra Assembly renews 21 LGAs’ TC chairmen tenure

Anambra State House of Assembly has renewed the tenure of transition committee chairmen (TCC) for 21 local government areas for another three months.

This was sequel to a letter received by the House from Governor Willie Obiano for consideration of the nominees as TCC in the 21 councils.

The tenure renewal was made during plenary, presided over by Speaker Uchenna Okafor in line with section 280 of the Local Government Law 1999 as amended, and as requested by Governor Obiano.

The lawmakers had, at the committee of the whole, screened and considered the election of the TCC of the 21 local government areas.

Okafor read out the confirmation of their appointments to the House, while the lawmakers unanimously adopted it through voice votes.

The speaker urged the TCC to attract more dividends of democracy to their respective councils. He urged them to assist Obiano in making his achievements visible in their councils.

Responding, Idemili North Local Government Area TCC, Raphael Nnabuife, thanked the House and Obiano for giving them another opportunity to pilot affairs of their councils and said they would continue to work for the benefit of the state.

Signature TV
Signature TVhttps://signaturetv.isitedigitals.com
Signature TV is a multi-media company, owners and operators of signaturetv.org and producers of The Signature Show on AIT and Corruption Tori. Our programmes are broadcast on the AIT Network and on Seven NTA stations across the country. We are content providers for a number of television networks and some State TV stations, with a respected 24/7, high online and offline followership. We are also Communications/Media Consultants to MacArthur Foundation, Ford Foundation and OSIWA.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles