Tuesday, October 3, 2023

Coronavirus: Diplomats, returning Nigerians, residents allowed from banned countries

The Federal Government says diplomats, returning Nigerians and foreigners resident in Nigeria are allowed into the country from nations placed under restrictions.

The Presidential Task Force for the Control of Coronavirus stated this on Thursday night while making clarification on categories of people affected by the travel restrictions imposed on 13 countries.

The task force stated this in reaction to frequently asked questions, made available by the office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha, on measures to combat the deadly Covid-19.


Mustapha is the chairman of the presidential task force.

The inter-ministerial committee said, “Following the announcement of travel restriction measures taken by the Federal Government to contain and manage the spread of COVID-19 on Wednesday, March 18, 2020, the presidential task force has, as part of the continuing engagement with members of the public, found it necessary to provide answers to the following frequently asked questions.”


Explaining what it meant by restricted entry, it said, “It means you will not be allowed into the country if you live in or have visited these countries in the last fifteen (15) days.

On whether it applied to a Nigerian returning home, it said, “No, you will be allowed in but subject to supervised self-isolation for Fourteen (14) days after arrival.”

On how it affects diplomats, the task force said, “No, you will be allowed into Nigeria but subject to supervised self-isolation for Fourteen days after arrival.”

The committee said the restriction did not affect those that are resident in Nigeria but holding foreign passports.

“No, you will be allowed into Nigeria but subject to supervised self- isolation for Fourteen (14) days after arrival.”

On whether those transiting through one of the 13 countries to get into Nigeria, it said, “Yes, if you have been to any of the countries mentioned, you will not be allowed into Nigeria, except you are a returning Nigerian, resident or diplomat,” it said.

The task force reiterated that the ban would come into effect from Saturday, urging the public to furnish or seek clarification through the COVID-PTF/NCDC  24/7 helpline No: 0800970000-10.

Recall that Nigeria on Wednesday placed travel restrictions on entry into the county from 13 countries with high-burden of coronavirus.

The countries are China, Iran, South Korea, Germany, Italy, United States, United Kingdom, Switzerland, Norway, Netherlands, Spain, France and Japan.”

The country also announced a temporary suspension of a visa-on-arrival policy.


Signature TV
Signature TVhttps://signaturetv.isitedigitals.com
Signature TV is a multi-media company, owners and operators of signaturetv.org and producers of The Signature Show on AIT and Corruption Tori. Our programmes are broadcast on the AIT Network and on Seven NTA stations across the country. We are content providers for a number of television networks and some State TV stations, with a respected 24/7, high online and offline followership. We are also Communications/Media Consultants to MacArthur Foundation, Ford Foundation and OSIWA.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles