Coronavirus: Wike inaugurates committee to distribute foodstuff


Rivers State Governor, Nyesom Ezenwo Wike has charged the Committee on Palliatives chaired by State Chairman of Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, Desmond Akawor, to cushion the hardship caused by strategies to contain the spread of coronavirus in the state to ensure that the foodstuffs from the state government get to the less privileged persons.

Inaugurating the committee on Monday at the Government House, Port Harcourt, Governor Wike said that the committee must not consider party affiliations.

He said: “The distribution of these foodstuffs has nothing to do with party membership. It should get to all less privileged people.

“That is why we have clerics, security personnel and other people in the committee. There should be no application of sentiment in the sharing.”

The Governor said that the committee will reach out to the 23 Local Government Areas of the State. He said all Local Government Areas must exercise patience till it gets to them.

“We will reach out to the 23 Local Government Areas of the State. No Local Government Area will be exempted.

“But Port Harcourt and Obio/Akpor Local Government Areas where we have the concentration of Rivers people will get the first attention,” he said.

The Governor directed the committee to ensure orphanages, security agencies and other groups get the palliatives.


He described the situation as a war, where the entire world is being decimated by the virus. He said that the fight to defeat coronavirus must be sustained.

Governor Wike reiterated his condemnation of the Federal Government for politicizing the fight against coronavirus.

He said the exclusion of 35 States in the Federal Government’s intervention is unnecessary.

“The members are Ambassador Desmond Akawor (Chairman), Mrs Inime Aguma, Dr Bariere Thomas, Chief David Briggs, Mrs Florence Amiesimaka, Mrs Stella Ichenwo, Mrs Anthonia Kpakol, Hon. Edison Ehie, Mr Samuel Nwanosike, Hon Hope Ikiriko, Mr Latteh Loolo, ACP Innocent Umerie (Representative of Nigeria Police Force), Hassan Yahaya (DSS), Lt Col Bello (Nigerian Army), AC Mathew Pama (Nigeria Security and Civil Defence Corps), Wing Commander Comfort Visah (Nigerian Air Force), Lt Commander CJ Udeh (Nigerian Navy) Venerable Richard Opara, Alhaji Abdulrazaq Diepriye, Monsignor Pius Kii, Archbishop Felix Ezebunwo, Mrs Vivian Braide, Prince Ohia and Paulinus Nsirim (Secretary).”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
Captcha verification failed!
CAPTCHA user score failed. Please contact us!