HomeNEWSECOWAS to launch Eco currency in 2027

ECOWAS to launch Eco currency in 2027

The Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) has agreed to launch the proposed single currency ‘Eco’ in 2027.

This is one of the agreements reached at the 59th session of the Authority of Heads of State and Government in Ghana.

In December 2019, the leaders adopted “EC” as the symbol for the currency to be used in 15 countries.

They are Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone and Togo.

The regional body also adopted Central Bank of West Africa (CBWA) as the name of the ECOWAS Central Bank.

The new 2027 timeframe was caused by the COVID-19 pandemic which affected continental and global economies.

ECOWAS Commission President, Jean-Claude Kassi Brou, told reporters in Accra, Ghana’s capital, that efforts are being doubled to roll out the currency.

“The road map would cover the period between 2022-2026, and 2027 being the launch of the ECO”, he said.

Share this story
Written by

Signature TV is a multi-media company, owners and operators of signaturetv.org and producers of The Signature Show on AIT and Corruption Tori. Our programmes are broadcast on the AIT Network and on Seven NTA stations across the country. We are content providers for a number of television networks and some State TV stations, with a respected 24/7, high online and offline followership. We are also Communications/Media Consultants to MacArthur Foundation, Ford Foundation and OSIWA.

No comments

Leave a Reply

Daily Updates

Subscribe to get news updates