Thursday, February 22, 2024

Imo: Deputy speaker, minority leader resign as 9 lawmakers defect to APC

Deputy Speaker of Imo House of Assembly, Okey Onyekanma, yesterday, resigned his position even as nine members drawn from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA) and  Action Alliance (AA) defected to the All Progressive Congress (APC).

The development, according to sources, formed part of measures aimed at gathering support from the House for Governor Hope Uzodinma.

“More members are expected to defect in the next siting of the House,” the source told Daily Sun.


Imo House of Assembly is made up of 27 legislators and the latest defection brings to 10 the number of APC legislators, thus leaving the PDP with 17 members.

The PDP lost three members, APGA two, while four members defected from the AA.Ekele Nnodimele, the minority leader of the House, from Orsu state constituency, was among those that defected.

Anyanwu, at the plenary yesterday explained that his resignation was “a matter of conscience”

The lawmaker, who hails from Mbaitoli constituency opined that his conscience would know no rest if he did not  surrender the post to someone from  Orlu zone, who he noted, should be the rightful occupant of the position.

Meanwhile, the Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC) for the state, Prof. Francis  Ezeonu, has assured that all logistics  required for the conduct of the supplementary elections had been put in  place.


Prof. Ezeonu said the approved ward and local government collation centres used during the 2019  elections would be used for the supplementary elections on January 25.

He said smart card readers remained a critical part of  accreditation of voters for the election.

The court had ordered a re-run election in Okigwe\Onuimo \Isiala Mbano federal constituency as well as supplementary elections in 18 polling units of Orlu\Orsu \Oru East federal constituency  and  12 polling units of Njaba state constituency.

Signature TV
Signature TV
Signature TV is a multi-media company, owners and operators of and producers of The Signature Show on AIT and Corruption Tori. Our programmes are broadcast on the AIT Network and on Seven NTA stations across the country. We are content providers for a number of television networks and some State TV stations, with a respected 24/7, high online and offline followership. We are also Communications/Media Consultants to MacArthur Foundation, Ford Foundation and OSIWA.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
Captcha verification failed!
CAPTCHA user score failed. Please contact us!

Latest Articles