HomeNEWSJournalists elect NUJ new national officers

Journalists elect NUJ new national officers

Journalists across the country, under the umbrella of the Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ) have elected new set of leaders to pilot the affairs of the union for another three years.

The  National President of NUJ, Chris Isiguzo has been returned unopposed for another term in office.

Isiguzo was first elected at the 6th triennial delegates conference of the union in Abeokuta in 2018.

Isiguzo emerged as the President of the union for another three years in office during the 7th delegates conference of the union which was held in Umuahia, Abia State.

The election was witnessed by three former Presidents of NUJ, representatives of the Federal Ministry of Labour and Productivity and the Deputy National President of the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC), Comrade Joe Ajaero.

Isiguzo got 665 votes from 704 voters accredited for the election, while his opponent, Yusuf Idris polled 15 votes, despite the fact that Idris had earlier stepped down.

22 votes were declared invalid.

Chairman of the National Credentials Committee, Garba Muhammad declared Isiguzo winner of the election.

Other national officers who emerged unopposed include Yahya Al-hassan who emerged as Deputy National President and a former Vice President of B-Zone and ex-Ondo NUJ Chairman, Barrister Dele Atunbi of NTA, Abuja elected unopposed as National Treasurer.

Others are Samuel Dada of LTV, Lagos who emerged unopposed as the National Financial Secretary and Ladi Emmanuel who is now the new National Internal Auditor.

Six Zonal Vice Presidents and Zonal Secretaries were also elected at the conference.

A former Ekiti NUJ Secretary/Vice Chairman Ronke Samo of NOA Chapel from Ekiti State was returned as the First female Vice President of B-Zone Southwest, while Abdulrasaq Alege emerged as B-Zone Secretary.


Share this story
Written by

Signature TV is a multi-media company, owners and operators of signaturetv.org and producers of The Signature Show on AIT and Corruption Tori. Our programmes are broadcast on the AIT Network and on Seven NTA stations across the country. We are content providers for a number of television networks and some State TV stations, with a respected 24/7, high online and offline followership. We are also Communications/Media Consultants to MacArthur Foundation, Ford Foundation and OSIWA.

No comments

Leave a Reply

Daily Updates

Subscribe to get news updates