HomeNIGERIANiger Assembly impeaches House leaders

Niger Assembly impeaches House leaders

The Niger State House of Assembly has impeached its Majority Leader, Alhaji Suleiman Nasko, and Deputy Majority Leader, Mr. Andrew Jagaba.

This followed the adoption of a motion by Alhaji Ndagi Baba, representing Lavun constituency and seconded by Alhaji Saidu Tama, representing Edati constituency during Thursday’s plenary.

Speaking on the motion, Baba said that the lawmakers had observed that the majority and deputy majority leaders were responsible for the slow movement of activities at the House.

He added that the house under their leadership was not progressing.

But the Speaker, Mr. Abdullahi Wuse, said that he was not notified of the decision to impeach them which was contrary to the Standing Order of the House.

Alhaji Mohammed Haruna, representing Bida II constituency, moved that the order read by the speaker be suspended and was seconded by Alhaji Malik Madaki, representing Bosso constituency.

Meanwhile, Alhaji Yabagi Akote, representing Gbako constituency, nominated Alhaji Abba Bala, as the new majority leader and was seconded by Mr. Suleiman Gambo, representing Paikoro constituency.

Also, Alhaji Bashir Lokogoma, nominated Alhaji Binta Mamman, representing Gurara constituency, as the new deputy majority and was seconded by Malik Madaki, representing Bosso constituency

Share this story
Written by

Signature TV is a multi-media company, owners and operators of signaturetv.org and producers of The Signature Show on AIT and Corruption Tori. Our programmes are broadcast on the AIT Network and on Seven NTA stations across the country. We are content providers for a number of television networks and some State TV stations, with a respected 24/7, high online and offline followership. We are also Communications/Media Consultants to MacArthur Foundation, Ford Foundation and OSIWA.

No comments

Leave a Reply

Daily Updates

Subscribe to get news updates