Nigeria suspends emergency passport services in New York


The Consulate General of Nigeria in New York has suspended emergency passport services due to shortage of old booklets.

In a notice dated March 6, 2020, the consulate said only applicants on appointment would be attended to in the time being.

“The Consulate General will resume attending to all and sundry when the passport booklet supply improves,” the notice said.

The shortage, according to the Consul General, Mr Benaoyagha Okoyen, is occasioned by gradual phaseout of the old passport and transition to the new 10 year enhanced E-Passport.

Okoyen gave the explanation while addressing a group of emergency passport applicants in his office in New York.

The applicants, who had showed up at the consulate before their respective interview dates, said they had no prior knowledge of the new policy.

Some became displeased after consular officials refused to attend to them for fear of flouting the policy.

Attempts at explanation fell on deaf ears as some said they came from far states, and could not afford the cost of putting up in New York.

On arrival at the premises, Okoyen took them to his office where he explained the situation.

“There is a transition going on from the five-year to the 10-year validity passport, and we are trying to manage the old stock.

“We hope the transition process is completed soon, and once that is done this issue will be over.


“Currently, we only have limited number of booklets, which have been allocated according to our scheduled appointments,” he said.

It was learnt that some of the applicants, most of whom were seeking renewal of their passports, came from other consular jurisdictions.

Besides New York, Nigeria has two other consulates in the United States located in Atlanta and Washington, serving allotted numbers of the country’s 50 states.

There are 20 states under the New York consular jurisdiction, including Connecticut, Delaware, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, New Hampshire and New Jersey,

Others are New York, Nebraska, Ohio, North Dakota, South Dakota, Rhode Island, Wisconsin, Minnesota, Vermont and Pennsylvania.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
Captcha verification failed!
CAPTCHA user score failed. Please contact us!