Ogun Assembly grants Abiodun’s request for tenure extension


Ogun State House of Assembly on Wednesday approved the request of Governor Dapo Abiodun to extend the tenure of local government transition committee chairmen for three months, with effect from April 18.

The approval followed a motion by the Majority Leader and member representing Ado-Odo/Ota I State Constituency, Yusuf Sherif, seconded by his Ado-Odo/Ota II counterpart, Lamidi Musefiu and supported by other lawmakers through a voice vote.

Speaker Kunle Oluomo had during the previous plenary acknowledged Abiodun’s correspondence requesting for a three-month extension, considering that local government elections had not been conducted due to prevailing circumstances.


Oluomo said that such request for extension was expedient to avert the creation of a vacuum in the running of the councils.

The assembly unanimously passed a resolution requesting all Ministries, Departments and Agencies (MDAs) of government as well as parastatals to submit their records of activities to the lawmakers to pave the way for the exercise of their annual oversight function on MDAs.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
Captcha verification failed!
CAPTCHA user score failed. Please contact us!