HomeNEWSPDP Presidential hopeful, Anyim, Sanwo-Olu, others receive Zik Prize Nov 7

PDP Presidential hopeful, Anyim, Sanwo-Olu, others receive Zik Prize Nov 7

The announcement for the winners of the Year 2020 Zik Prize in Leadership Award was made on Thursday, September 23, 2021, in Lagos by Prof Pat Utomi, the Chairman of the selection committee on behalf of the members of the board of Public Policy Research and Analysis Centre (PRAC).

Senator Anyim who has declared interest to run for president in the 2023 presidential election, whether the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) zones the position to the South East or not, during the recently concluded national convention of the party in Abuja won the Zik Prize in Political Leadership category alongside Minister for Health, Senator Olorunimbe Mamora.

Addressing newsmen at the weekend while declaring his interest, the PDP Chieftain said, “Posters of my presidential bid and agitations by groups for me to contest flooded the social media in 2020 and I disassociated myself from such calls.

“I felt that it was too early for such declarations to enable the present administration to concentrate on governance.

“Such calls resurfaced in the early part of 2021 and I choose to be quiet over the issue.

“We presently have less than 18 months to the next elections and I feel the time was ripe to indicate my interest.”

The Ebonyi born politician and Nigerian leader are being honoured in recognition of his exemplary leadership qualities shown when occupying the offices of the Senate President and the SGF where his legacies have lived on.

Governors Sanwo-Olu of Lagos State and Abdullahi Sule of Nasarawa State will be honoured with the Year 2020 Zik Prize in Good Governance while Adesina, Kyari and the Director-General of the Nigerian Maritime and Safety Agency (NIMASA), Dr Bashir Jamoh will be honoured for their achievements in Public Service.

Others are Group Managing Director of FBN Holdings Plc, Mr U.K. Eke and Pioneer MD/CEO, Nigeria Sovereign Investment Authority (NSIA), Uche Orji will be honoured in the Professional Excellence category and former First Lady of Akwa Ibom State, Mrs Ekaette Akpabio will be recognised in the Humanitarian Leadership category.

The event shall have Chief John Nnia Nwodo as Chairman and the Emir of Kano, Alhaji Aminu Ade Bayero as the Royal Guest of Honour and attendance is strictly by invitation.

Share this story
Written by

Signature TV is a multi-media company, owners and operators of signaturetv.org and producers of The Signature Show on AIT and Corruption Tori. Our programmes are broadcast on the AIT Network and on Seven NTA stations across the country. We are content providers for a number of television networks and some State TV stations, with a respected 24/7, high online and offline followership. We are also Communications/Media Consultants to MacArthur Foundation, Ford Foundation and OSIWA.

No comments

Leave a Reply

Daily Updates

Subscribe to get news updates