Monday, May 20, 2024

PDP wins Senate, Reps, State Assembly elections in A’Ibom

The People’s Democratic Party (PDP) has swept the Senate, House of Representatives and State Assembly supplementary elections which held on Saturday in Akwa Ibom State.

Returning officer for the Akwa Ibom Northwest rerun election, Prof. Robert Dode of the University of Uyo, announced that Senator Christopher Ekpeyong of the PDP won the election.

He said that Mr Ekpeyong polled 134, 717 votes while Sen. Godswill Akpabio of All Progressives Congress (APC), who had earlier announced his withdrawal scored 83, 820 votes in the rerun elections.


Also the returning officer of INEC for the House of representatives, Prof. Idara Akpabio of the University of Uyo has declared Mr Nsikak Ekong of the PDP as winner having polled 45, 366 votes while Mr Emmanuel Akpan of the APC scored 22, 757.

In the State House of Assembly supplementary elections, the returning officer, Prof. Victor Ebong of the University of Uyo declared Esse Umoh of PDP winner having polled 18, 999 votes to defeat Mr Nse Ntuen of the APC who scored 7,108.

The rerun polls were ordered by Appeal court in Calabar h into Akwa Ibom North West(Ikot Ekpene) Senatorial District, Essien Udim Federal Constituency and Essien Udim State Constituency.


Thenation correspondent reports that Saturday’s rerun elections in the area were characterised by pockets of violence, voter apathy and electoral malpractices.

Though adjudged peaceful, unconfirmed reports have that some members of the National Youth Service Corps on election duty were kidnapped.

Signature TV
Signature TV
Signature TV is a multi-media company, owners and operators of and producers of The Signature Show on AIT and Corruption Tori. Our programmes are broadcast on the AIT Network and on Seven NTA stations across the country. We are content providers for a number of television networks and some State TV stations, with a respected 24/7, high online and offline followership. We are also Communications/Media Consultants to MacArthur Foundation, Ford Foundation and OSIWA.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
Captcha verification failed!
CAPTCHA user score failed. Please contact us!

Latest Articles