HomeSportsUEFA to ban six clubs from Champions League, Europa League

UEFA to ban six clubs from Champions League, Europa League

Two Portuguese clubs, FC Porto and Sporting Lisbon, are among eight clubs that have been fined and six threatened with exclusion from European competitions over unpaid debts.

The clubs have been adjudged to have breached UEFA’s Financial Fair Play regulations, due to their their “non-compliance with the ‘no overdue payables’ requirement”.

UEFA’s newly-established ‘First Chamber of Club Financial Control Body’ handed out all the punishments.

The clubs affected are: Astana (Kazakhstan), CFR Cluj (Romania), CSKA Sofia (Bulgaria), Mons Calpe (Gibraltar), Real Betis (Spain) and Clube Desportivo Santa Clara (Portugal).

As well as the fines, six of the teams will be banned from the next European competition they qualify for, if the debts are not settled by January 31, 2022.

Only Astana and CFR Cluj don’t have that additional sanction hanging over them.

Sporting have already qualified for this season’s Champions League knockout stage, while Porto will progress if they beat Atletico Madrid next week.

Share this story
Written by

Signature TV is a multi-media company, owners and operators of and producers of The Signature Show on AIT and Corruption Tori. Our programmes are broadcast on the AIT Network and on Seven NTA stations across the country. We are content providers for a number of television networks and some State TV stations, with a respected 24/7, high online and offline followership. We are also Communications/Media Consultants to MacArthur Foundation, Ford Foundation and OSIWA.

No comments

Leave a Reply

Daily Updates

Subscribe to get news updates