HomeNIGERIASenate confirms 8 Justices of Supreme Court

Senate confirms 8 Justices of Supreme Court

Nigerian Senate has confirmed the appointment of eight Justices of the Supreme Court after a report by the committee.

The report was presented by the Chairman, Senate Committee on Judiciary, Human Rights and Legal Matters, Senator Michael Opeyemi Bamidele

Contributing to the debate after the debate, Senator James Ebiowo Manager expressed satisfaction for a thorough report.

Senator Gabriel Suswam, who is a member of the Committee confirmed, to the Senate that the nominees were thoroughly screened, stressing that they should be confirmed without hesitation.

After they were confirmed by the Committee of the whole, Senate President, Dr Ahmad Ibrahim Lawan urged the Federal government to make funds available to the judiciary to enable them to discharge their duties.

The Justices who were confirmed are: Honorable Justice M. Lawal Garba – Northwest, Hon. Justice Helen M. Ogunwunmiju – Southwest, Hon, Justice Abdu Aboki – Northwest, Hon. Justice L. M. M. Saulawa, Hon. Justice Adamu Jarre – Northeast, Hon. Justice Samuel C. Oseji – South-South, Hon. Justice Tijjani Abubakar – Northeast and Hon. Justice Emmanuel A. Agim – South-South.

FavoriteLoadingAdd to favorites
Share this story
Post Tags
No comments

Leave a Reply

Daily Updates

Subscribe to get news updates